Joy on Noses and Eyelashes

DSC_0920You know there are those moments where joy sneaks up on you when you really aren’t expecting it?  Actually, on this particular Saturday I was honestly expecting the opposite of joy.  Who really wants to be stuck inside with four bored kiddos who wind up making more noise to keep themselves entertained than a heard of buffalo in a marching band!

Looking back now, I feel kind of silly for facing that Saturday with dread, for what came out of it was such a gift that there really are no words.

Let me preface this by saying that here in the Southeast, we get like two snowfalls a year, and we are lucky if either of them stick to the ground.  So when the weatherman says it might snow, the excitement of my kids only amplifies their volume.

Amid their constant questions of when is the snow going to start and can we build a snowman and can we set out the big red bowl to catch snow for snow cream, I braced myself for a day of bored kids, a messy house, and restlessness.  And as the restlessness settled into my bones, the snow began to fall.DSC_0912DSC_0896Close Up

The kids immediately started asking to go outside and the practical mom in me only thought about how wet and cold it was out and lunch is almost ready and what about the mess they are going to track back in.  But Sweet Hubby said let them go, and so I did.

And I am so glad I did because watching them was such nourishment for my soul.  When did I grow so callous that the first, and sometimes only, snowfall of the year stopped being a time to stop everything and celebrate?DSC_0817

And as the hush of snowfall fell over our little patch of heaven, joy fell in my heart!  I lit candles and drank coffee and walked from window to window enjoying peace and refreshment in such a way I can’t explain.  And the way that day that I had dreaded as a day of noise and restlessness turned into a day of absolute peace and rest, can only be explained as a gift from the Lord.  For He knows just what we need even if especially when we kick and scream and complain. DSC_0948

DSC_0916I am so thankful for this gift in the form of snow on noses and eyelashes and sheer joy in the faces of my dear ones…and in my heart.DSC_0809 DSC_0810 DSC_0814 DSC_0840 DSC_0845 DSC_0865 DSC_0875DSC_0949 DSC_0925 DSC_0928 DSC_0959 DSC_0963 DSC_0880DSC_0905

“For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven, And do not return there without watering the earth And making it bear and sprout, And furnishing seed to the sower and bread to the eater; So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth; It will not return to Me empty, Without accomplishing what I desire. And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it. For you will go out with joy and be led forth with peace; The mountains and the hills will break forth into shouts of joy before you, And all the trees of the field will clap their hands.” ~Isaiah 55:10-12

Leave a Reply

