Taking the Plunge…

Outer Banks, NC

Outer Banks, NC

I snapped this photo last Spring, when I took a much needed weekend away to be alone and compose my thoughts.  You know those moments when you have traveled as far as you can go on your current tank, and you just have to get somewhere to fill up again or you are going to shut down and not go anywhere fast?

Well, that’s where I was when I took this picture from the outer banks of NC last year.  My Sweet Husband blessed me with a couple of days to collect my thoughts and remember what peace and quiet sounded like.

And it was nourishing.  And now, almost a year later, I look back at this picture and I have such fond memories of the endless water, the green sea grass, the birds overhead, and the ancient trees.  I need to do that again.  Soon.  But for now…now I am here.  Here where I have been already been interrupted 5 times since beginning this post by little people who just want my attention.  And I love that they need me, want me even.  But it is all-draining sometimes too.  And I know I am not the only one who feels this way.

Moms everywhere feel like they have lost who they once were since getting married and having kids.  I mean, aren’t we called to be submissive to our husbands, and live sacrificially for our children?  And that’s what I am about…most of the time.  But aren’t there those moments when you just need to breathe?  To step away from the needs that surround you and be yourself?

That’s what this blog is for me.  It is my breath of fresh air.  My place to share my heart and my creativity.  Sometimes I will share tutorials and helpful hints, sometimes I will give you a sneak peek into the next collection I am working on for my shop, sometimes you may find a word straight from my heart, and other times a Word from God’s.  But always, I vow to be authentic.  I hope you will join me on this journey as I take the plunge and become a blogger.  (Eeeeeekkkk!  Writing that just made me a whole lot of excited and a whole lot of nervous all rolled up into one little ball of joy!)

Leave a Reply

